Champions for Wind – An exciting opportunity


“Teaching children skills without giving them a vision for a better future is only training.”- Nido Qubein

I embarked on an exciting new project this weekend in conjunction with HETA (Humberside Engineering Training Association), Forewind, Crown Estates, The University of Hull and 9 other teacher from the Hull & East Riding.  Hull and East Riding is about to start an exciting opportunity with the wind industry that will provide many careers opportunities for the local community.

Champions for Wind is a curriculum development programme that operates through a network of secondary ‘Champions’.  The main aim is to develop a resource linked to the wind industry within the curriculum and implement this 2 local schools.  I will be developing resources in ICT and Enterprise

Yet again I have a champion title, I hasten to add I am not really a champion of anything more passionate about what I do.  This project fundamentally encompasses all that I believe in;  creativity, collaboration, innovation, enterprise and providing an opportunity develop careers information advice and guidance in the curriculum.  The passion for learning and providing young people with this opportunity was evident throughout the event.  The support from the Forewind and business community was also evident, I feel privileged to be part of this programme,  This project will provide many challenges and involves stepping out of my comfort zone.  I believe this image below clearly demonstrates that this is a positive challenge.  I will keep you posted throughout the project.  Comments and suggestion welcome.

Leave a Reply

